Christmas to-do list

Christmas tree

I have not really wanted to post much about Christmas, but since Thanksgiving is over I have decided it may be appropriate now. Of course I know I am looking forward to Christmas because it is another chance for all of my husband’s family to get together. I do not have any family near-by, so I like to see my mother-in-law excited to have all three sons, daughter-in-laws, and 6 grandchildren at her house. She is a good cook and baker, but these days it is difficult for her to stand for very long because of her need to use a walker. So, all of us help her make our family dinners, which really adds to the spirit of the holidays.

This time of year is so busy for me. I have waited too long this year to go Christmas shopping. I just haven’t had the time. For the first year ever, I thought about jumping on the Black Friday bandwagon and go shopping. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. So, Cyber Monday came along, and I still didn’t take advantage of any deals this year.

***NOTE*** If anybody has any resources as to how find the best deals (phone apps, website, or any other resources) please let me know by leaving a comment below. Thanks in advance!

There are many things that need to be accomplished between now and New Year’s Day. These are some steps to take that I hope will help you as much as they help me.

  1. Fill your calendar – It is a great time to start setting a date for everything you need to do in December from finding a babysitter for New Year’s Eve to what time to have Christmas dinner, to when to decorate the tree. The best time to think about all of this is this week (last week of November). Rather if you use a a regular paper calendar, Google Calendar, or the back of a piece of paper, now is the time to list everything you want to get done between now and the end of the year by picking specific dates to accomplish what you want to do.
  2. Look through your closet – Go through your clothes. This is a good idea for 2 reasons. One being is that it is the end of the year and some things won’t be in fashion next year. Also, a lot of families could use the donations. Pick your favorite charity and donate to them. A second reason why it is a good reason to go through your closet is that if you are going to a holiday party, then try on that fancy attire to see how it fits. The best time to do this is two weeks before the first get-together. This will give you enough time to shop your closet, hem, or make any other alterations to your clothes before it is too late.
  3. Send cards – A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a blog about e-cards. I have decided to  send cards the old way. It means more to me. Start by finding cards for everyone on your list that you want to send cards to, or buy a box of cards (which is what we do). Then sit down with your cards, addresses, envelopes, and stamps. Sometimes I use green and red markers to decorate the envelope or the inside of the card with a simple green outline of a Christmas tree and red bulbs. Begin the first week of December.
  4. Wrap and mail presents – Set up a place with wrapping paper, scissors, tape, bows, and gift tags. Then you can wrap a few presents everyday starting the end of the first week of December. Start mailing presents the week of the 10th. If you send first-class mail, make sure you send it no later than the 20th, the last day the post office ensures pre-Christmas arrival.
  5. Prep for guests – If you are going to host a party, make a check list and tackle chores according to the room you are working with. Make sure not to forget washing sheets, blankets, and preparing the guest bathroom with all the neccesities if you are having overnight guests. I recently heard about an idea that is new to me. You can make a freezable brunch, then thaw it in the refrigerator on the 24th.
  6. Clear your camera – Go through your digital camera and make sure that you will have enough storage for the spontaneous pictures that you will be taking during your festivities  Empty the camera of videos and photos. Don’t forget to create a charging station to ensure your camera is all juiced-up for the next set of fun pictures. The best time to do all of this is the 22nd so you can find any missing cords or buy a new memory card. You can also take some time to learn different modes of taking shots. I want to explore the continuous  mode this Christmas so I can get shots of everyone opening their gifts.

I hope this list helps. It is nice to have a guide to help with the stress of holidays. I hope this helps relieve some of your stress!

Leave a Reply

