All they want for Christmas…

I know Thanksgiving is officially over and it is time to move on to the next holiday. I am all for Christmas, but sometimes, especially with all the rants and raves about Black Friday and Cyber Monday, I think of how easy it is for someone to lose the true spirit of Christmas.

I was checking my notifications on my Facebook page earlier and I was surprised to find a post that one of my friends shared. There is a Medical Association in Washington, D.C. that cares for injured soldiers.

The post was touching in two ways. The first way is because my 12-year-old made it a point to want to do the Christmas cards this year. I told her it was a bit too early, but she said she would make them out today and we could send them next week. I wrote down each address just the way it should appear on a piece of notebook paper, and she got out the two boxes of cards and wrote in each one, signed them from all of us, and then addressed them. Of course she left me the part that I have to seal them all up and put the stamp on,  but it is OK because she is in the true Christmas spirit already.

The second reason why the shared-post touched me so much is because I cannot imagine not receiving a simple card for Christmas. I mean I have relatives that live far away and even a simple card shows someone you are thinking about them at least. So, when you are mailing out your Christmas cards this year, please add one more card, envelope, and stamp and address it to:

A Recovering American Soldier
c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center
6900 Georgia Avenue, NW Washington, DC, 20307-5001

These men and women have served our country. I believe all of them deserve at least a “thinking of you” memento to show how grateful we are that we have the best military force in the world. I think of the Vietnam era and how our soldiers were so badly mistreated and I know that this simple gesture is meant for my family, and meant for me to share with you in hopes that you will pass it along, too!

I am so happy that I came across this shared-post and I hope that it touches your heart as much as it has touched mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

