Waste not

My oh my! The weekend was so busy that I am just getting back to my blog today. It was my husband’s birthday Sunday. What a splendid day! I made a triple layer brownie cake with chocolate frosting. I will post the recipe another day. My mother-in-in law made dinner. I got him a beard and mustache trimmer. Our oldest daughter made him a card. On the outside of the card it read, “Happy Birthday”. On the inside of the card she wrote, “You are getting old, Dad. Smile while you still have teeth!” I laughed so hard!

I want to share a website that I recently heard about but had not yet been able to try out. I figured with Thanksgiving a couple of days away and Christmas almost one month away that this site would be relevant. The website is Love Food Hate Waste. The host is based in the UK, but even so the site is written in English, but the measurements are metric. Love Food Hate Waste offers you tips of how to save time and money when it comes to hosting a party, or just entertaining a few guests. According to Love Food Hate Waste , combined families throw away 7.2 million tons of food and drinks every year. That is a lot of wasted food!

Love Food Hate Waste also has a portion planner that takes out the guesswork of how much of a recipe to make for your guests if you are entertaining a crowd of people. The Perfect Portion Tool can be found at http://england.lovefoodhatewaste.com/portions/everyday. The tool is helpful to help a hostess plan ahead so that there is enough food to entertain with while at the same time not a lot of food being wasted.

Love Food Hate Waste also offers recipes, perfect ways to store food, and ways to save time and money in the kitchen. The site offers a newsletter sign-up and can also be found on Facebook.

I hope this site is useful to you. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think!

Now, as for the Triple Layer Brownie Cake. My husband loves chocolate. So, I went to my neighbor because she is a great cook and baker. I asked her if she had any recipes for a mind-blowing chocolate cake. She gave me the recipe and now it is something I have made two years in a row. I forgot to write down how much flour was needed for the brownie mix, so I have omitted the brownie recipe and went directly to the frosting recipe. If you are a chocolate lover, then this cake is something that you will make often. You will need either 3 boxes of brownie mix or a favorite recipe for brownies that you have on hand, but you have to make sure it makes (3)-9 inch round cake pans of brownies. Below is the recipe for the frosting and it really adds a true delicious bonus and is easy to make.

FROSTING

(2) – 8 oz. packages semi-sweet baking chocolate
3 c. Heavy whipping cream
1/2 c. sugar (optional)
(2) 1.55 oz chocolate candy bars, shaved.

1. Melt chocolate in heavy sauce pan on medium heat.
2. Gradually stir in heavy whipping cream and sugar (if desired) until well blended.
3. Heat to gentle boil, stir for 1 minute (continuously).
4. Remove from heat and transfer sauce to mixing bowl.
5. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours or until mixture reaches a pudding like consistency, stirring a few times in between.
5. After reaching pudding like consistency, beat until peaks form then immediately spread between layers and over the top sides of cake.
6. Sprinkle with shaved chocolate.
7. Store in refrigerator.

yields 16-20 servings.

I hope that this post has been helpful!

Leave a Reply

